DRAFT ONLY; NOT FOR DISTRIBUTION UNTIL APPROVED

ANCDS Annual Meeting

San Diego Marriott Hotel and Marina 333 West Harbor Drive San Diego Ballroom

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

President Edy Strand called the meeting to order at 8:08 AM and welcomed all attendees.

Minutes: It was moved, seconded and approved to accept the 2010 minutes as written.

<u>Treasurer's report:</u> Carl Coelho (Treasurer) reported that ANCDS is fiscally sound with current net assets of over \$84,000.

<u>Nominations Committee</u>: Mary Kennedy (Chair) announced the following winners of 2011 elections: Nina Simmons-Mackie as President Elect; Melissa Duff as Secretary, Maria Munoz as Treasurer and Kristie Spencer as Member-at-Large.

<u>Education and Standards Committee</u>: Katie Ross (reporting for Janet Patterson, Chair) announced plans for the day including presentations on Right Hemiphere by Margaret Blake, TBI by Carole Roth and Sandra Starch, developmental dysarthria by Katherine Hustad and pharmacology by Alec Glass, MD.

<u>Meeting Committee and Local Arrangements</u>: Michele Sinotte (Chair) reported that 100 people preregistered for the ANCDS scientific meeting.

Professional Affairs and Practice Guidelines Committee: Stacie Raymer (Chair) reported on the accomplishments of the practice guidelines writing committees as follows: The dysarthria committee (Kathy Yorkston, Chair) had an article published in September; the dementia committee (Michelle Bourgeois, Chair) continues to collaborate with ASHA NCEP on guidelines dementia intervention; The apraxia of speech committee (Kirrie Ballard, Chair) is working to update the systematic review of AOS treatments; the TBI committee (Mary Kennedy, Chair) is working to update cognitive rehabilitation guidelines and they are also exploring using podcasts; the aphasia committee (Pagie Beeson, Chair) has a paper in review with Randy Robey; no information was received from the Developmental AOS. Stacie Raymer announced that a new committee focusing on Developmental Dysarthria was being considered and that a new chair of the Aphasia Committee is needed. Edy Strand thanked the committees for a huge and ongoing contribution to the organization.

<u>Website Committee</u>: Don Freed (Chair) reported that the website has been popular with an average of 220 unique visitors per day in September. The most popular area of the website is the practice guidelines area. Don reported that changes will be made to the website contact information in order to make members more accessible. President Strand elaborated that one of

the key missions of ANCDS is to be a "resource" to the public and to other professionals; yet, most of the membership are not accessible via the website. A solution is being sought, possibly including posting all members with the option of "opting out."

<u>Newsletter Committee</u>: Melissa Duff and Pradeep Ramanathan (Co-Chairs) reported that the layout of the newsletter has been changed, that they plan to expand and diversify the content of the newsletter and that they hope to include students (e.g. articles that feature students, a student reporter). They asked that anyone with ideas please contact either Melissa or Pradeep.

Publications Committee: No report

Scientific Affairs Committee: Neila Donovan (Chair) thanked her committee for their enthusiasm and reviewed the suggestions that the committee has offered for consideration by the Executive Board. These include: developing a research funding clearing house accessible to ANCDS members, developing a page on the website to provide information or announcements for multisite collaborative projects, developing an award for an outstanding ANCDS researcher, developing research grants, developing practice based evidence, and developing tutorials regarding evidence-based treatments. Edy Strand commended the committee on an ambitious and outstanding plan and noted that they did an excellent job of tying all suggestions to the ANCDS Strategic Plan.

Membership Committee: Gloriajean Wallace (Chair) reported that as of November, 2011 ANCDS has 256 members (as compared to 238 at this time last year), - a gain of 18 members including 8 full members and 10 associate members. She also reported that 2 members have obtained Life Member status: Judy Rau and Anita Halper. The results of a membership survey were reported in the Spring newsletter and several recommendations have been made to the Executive Board. Gloriajean also reported that this year marks the first student scholarship offered to attend the ANCDS annual meeting. The idea began when last year's keynote speaker Lawrence Shriberg donated his honorarium for student support. This year ten students were chosen from 25 applicants. Each winning student's attendance at the meeting was supported and each was assigned a member mentor. Students and mentors were recognized with ribbons on their name tags. Gloriajean also noted that 3 unfunded applicants for the scholarship attended the meeting. The committee hopes to continue the scholarships in the future.

<u>Certification Board</u>: Kathleen Youse (Chair) thanked members: Nancy Alarcon, Katherine Atkinson, Liz Hoover, Craig Linebaugh, Anthony Salvatore, Suchetta Kamath, Joe Duffy and Barbara Shadden for their hard work on this committee. She reported that there are 4 people moving through the certification process.

Ad hoc Certification Study Committee: Kathleen Youse reported for Caroline Royal-Evans (Chair). The goal of the committee has been to offer recommendations for revising the certification process. The committee has recommended the following to the Executive Board: revise the certification process, develop a detailed description of the process and develop methods to guide candidates through the process. The general recommendations were approved by the Executive Board and sent back to the committee to develop the details of the revised certification process. Input from the membership will be sought during this process.

<u>Honors Committee</u>: Mary Boyle reported for Anita Halper (Chair) that the Honors of ANCDS would be announced at the luncheon (Addendum: Subsequently the Honors were awarded to Sandra Bond Chapman).

OLD BUSINESS

<u>Strategic Plan:</u> Edy Strand noted that the ANCDS Strategic Plan is posted on the website. Committees have been focusing on this plan throughout the year with significant progress. Edy will post progress towards goals on the website to update the membership.

<u>Certification & Membership:</u> The Executive Board has met via conference calls and face-to-face meeting to address 2 separate issues: 1) the process to become board certified, and 2) avenues to full membership in ANCDS. While the ad hoc Certification committee works on issue #1, the EB will address issue #2. Presently full membership requires either board certification or a PhD. It is anticipated that the issue of alternate pathways for full membership will be put before the membership for discussion.

NEW BUSINESS

Announcements:

Edy Strand was pleased to report that members Elaine Ledwon-Robinson, Janet Patterson and Carole Roth were awarded Fellow of ASHA.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of ANCDS incorporation on December 31, 1991. This was recognized with stickers on name tags and a slide show recognizing past presidents. Edy noted that the beginnings of ANCDS occurred in two meetings several years before the formal incorporation.

Edy Strand acknowledged the sad news that Robert Brookshire, long time ANCDS member and colleague, passed away; a write up memorializing Bob's life and contributions was circulated. Edy asked that any member who is aware of the death of another member should please notify the ANCDS president.

The annual membership meeting was adjourned at 8:42 AM.

Respectfully submitted, Nina Simmons-Mackie ANCDS Secretary